Get Involved!

The Jonesboro Regional Chamber of Commerce has numerous ways for you to get involved in your community. Here we highlight each of our committees, their goals and activities, and their monthly meeting schedule. Committee involvement is a great way to meet other business professionals and make a difference in our community!

Agri-Business Committee – Chad Harbison, Chair

Meets the second Tuesday at 4:00 p.m.

The Agri-Business Committee works to enhance the position that agriculture plays in our economy.  They host the annual Agri-Business Breakfast, monitor farm bill legislation, award the Farmer of the Year and Agri Business Person of the Year. They also co-sponsor ASU Agri Business students to attend the annual Washington, D.C. Fly-in, Agriculture Leadership Conference at ASU, and Sew With Cotton.

A-State Committee – Heather Talley, Chair

Meets the third Thursday at 4:00 p.m.

The A-State Committee is responsible for enhancing the relationship between Arkansas State University and the business community. Each year, the week prior to the first home football game is ‘Paint the Town Red’ week. Festivities include a balloon launch, a decorating contest between local businesses, and The Big Great A-State Tailgate in downtown Jonesboro. The committee also participates in Preview Days, New Student Orientation and the student athlete appreciation dinner. The A-State Committee also hosts the annual Red Hot Chili Pot Challenge prior to the November football game.

Business Network Committee – Deania Vanhoozer, Chair

Meets the third Thursday at noon.

The Business Network Committee is responsible for enhancing the local business climate through networking opportunities and specific events for our members. Speed Networking is a great way to meet new business contacts. Business Expo is the largest business to business event in Arkansas with over 250 booths. The committee also hosts Power Breakfast and the Summer Luncheon Seminar Series.

Community Benefit Organizations Committee – Pam Knapp-Carver, Chair

Meets every other month on the fourth Wednesday at 4:00 p.m.

This new committee was developed to enhance the relationships between regional non-profit organizations to build a stronger community through collaboration. It provides for networking among non-profit professionals and the opportunity to share ideas, information and resources.

Governmental Affairs Committee – Christie Jordan, Chair

Meets the first Thursday at 4:00 p.m.

Focused on developing specific projects and programs that enhance the relationship between the business community and government, this committee hosts the bi-annual Arkansas Legislative Dinner and the local elected officials' reception. They also produce the Elected Officials Directory, assist with the annual Washington DC Fly-in, and host candidate forums.

Green Business Committee – Brittany Morton, Chair

Meets the second Wednesday at 8:00 a.m.

The goal of the Environment Committee is to improve the quality of life in Jonesboro and the region by organizing and supporting events and initiatives which educate the public regarding preservation and conservation of the region’s natural resources and the environment. Each year, they sponsor the Great Arkansas Clean-Up, and Community Recycles Day. In April, the Environment Committee hosts the annual Paint the Town Green week, which includes a Go Green Lunch, Ego-magination contest in the local schools and a Tree Planting.

Membership Development Committee – Ed Ware, Chair

Meets the second Wednesday at noon.

This committee enhances recruitment and retention of Chamber members through New Member Luncheons, Chamber Partners and mentoring of members during their first year of involvement with the Chamber.   This year the committee will host two new member orientation lunches, a prospective members luncheon and Primetime, the mini business expo for new members.  The committee also visits all existing members each year during ‘Operation Thank You’.

Technology & Innovations Committee – Manu Nair, Chair

Meets the third Wednesday at 11:00 a.m.

The goal of the Technology & Innovations Committee is to improve the technology and infrastructure environment for Jonesboro businesses to thrive and plan for the future.

Transportation Committee – Beverly Nix, Chair

Meets the first Monday at 4:00 p.m.

The Transportation Committee works to obtain, share and act upon issues and needs in all matters related to city, state and federal funding and construction for streets, highways, public transportation and aviation. They work closely with our elected officials to determine priorities for Jonesboro’s transportation needs that will benefit our community and region.

Workforce Development Committee – Shanna Kenndy, Chair

Meets the first Wednesday at 4:00 p.m.

The Workforce Development Committee enhances the relationship between business and educational organizations through specific programs and projects with an emphasis on workforce development. They organize and promote the Arkansas Scholars program in Craighead County high schools and honor elementary students through the Student Recognition program. The Jr. Leadership Jonesboro program is in its fourth year and involves students from all area schools in a hands on leadership skills experience that mirrors Leadership Jonesboro.

Fill out my online form.